Freedomain Radio Amazon Affiliate Links: United States - Canada - United Kingdom

Welcome to Freedomain Radio Message Board

If you're interested in joining the philosophical discussion, click "sign in" or "create account" on the right of the page. If you're creating a new account, please be sure to include an explanation as to why you're interested in joining the message board community. This verification requirement is included to cut down on possible spam accounts.

Dylan Lawrence Moore

Why College Sucks - Start a Business or Get a Job

Much to my chagrin, as I was working on this video, Stef went and published a call-in show AND a video on this topic. Balls.

I am one of the "rare" success stories of the modern college era. I graduated in 2009 with a BS in Chemistry and I already had a job lined up at an oil refinery where I had been interning as a lab tech for a year and a half. I had gone to school, gotten good grades, went to university, and got the coveted job that correlated to my degree. Congratulations! I was mediocre.

But I fucking hated it.

I ran away screaming from the academic and corporate world to spend four years between living a monastic lifestyle in a Shinto shrine, moving across the country and become a teacher at a private high school, and finally buying a one-way plane ticket to Europe where I would spend two and a half years being more or less a vagabond. I wanted to reject utterly the life that had been promoted to me by society.